Glowing Flowers and Busy Bees

This is part of a daily writing project in conjunction with photographer Sarah Tesar. For every day of May 2017 I will be writing a short piece inspired by Sarah’s daily photos as posted on her Instagram feed.

Photo © 2017 Sarah Tesar

https://www.flickr.com/photos/sarahtesar

Growing up, cartoons definitely gave me quirky perceptions of how the real world works. To this day whenever I see flowers – especially big-petal’d ones with full, rounded stamen in the middle – I immediately envision a big fat honeypot for bumblebees.

My mind, my heart is filled with entranced visions of busy worker bees, slowly buzzing around on a bright and sunny day. Moving from flower to flower with an old wooden little bucket (dark brown, the kind with a steel strap around the middle), collecting their daily quota of juicy pollen. Humming, buzzing and whistling all the while.

A positive and productive life. They have their task, and they go to it, all smiles. Proud to dive in and gather up their nourishment.

I picture the flowers as happy too. Living, sentient beings with vague faces, smiling eagerly, waiting to offer up their givings to the bees. A part of the circle of life.

It’s how it goes, and all are happy to take part. I see it as one of those early cartoon animations, the kind where every living being is happy and super-smiley. They all bounce and sway to the background music, waving their arm-like limbs as if in joyous praise of the day.

Such pure, rich happiness.

I think that’s why flowers always seem like bright, colourful symbols of cheeriness to me.

And also why I’m never quite scared bees. Why be afraid? After all, they’re just doing their jobs!

© 2017 Andrew Hall Writes

Leave a Reply

