Safest Space

This is part of a daily writing project in conjunction with photographer Sarah Tesar. For every day of May 2017 I will be writing a short piece inspired by Sarah’s daily photos as posted on her Instagram feed.

Photo © 2017 Sarah Tesar

https://www.flickr.com/photos/sarahtesar/

Glowing from within. Insular power. All the world around becomes darker by comparison. A reverse flashlight.

I am decidedly an introvert. In the most general sense of the word. I have pretty well always defaulted to the comfort of myself. My own little world, safe and unbetrayed. Everything glows from within, there.

I remember the bus to school as a child. Cold winter mornings, early AM with no sunlight. Huddled alone (thankfully) in my seat, cornered against the window. With my cavernous winter jacket I would envelop myself, tucking my head inside, only my toque sticking out the collar. And I would play with my watch. My little digital sportswatch, silver and black with hard plastic. And a miniature little light to read the display. So small, so singular in purpose.

Yet within the cave of my thick coat, it was a powerful candle. I looked at the inner lefthand pocket of the coat and imagined setting it up like a little shelf, with miniature supplies. A tiny room, lit only yet fully by my watch’s light. Tiny but cozy. Comfortable. Never feeling like I was swaddled in blankets, but rather like I was in a safe space. Not needing to do anything with my legs. Just my hands, my watch, and my privacy.

Safe. Quiet, and undisturbed. Not alone; for I am there.

Radiating incandescent, with the confidence of strength in self.

The safest space.

© 2017 Andrew Hall Writes

Leave a Reply

