Miss you, friends

I miss you, friends.

You walked out on me. And despite that, I miss you. That gap you left. That void, that inexplicable absence. I will never really known why you did it. You never struck me as the cold type. The kind of person who could just walk away from a friendship. From something that seemed so true and strong and positive. Just here today, gone tomorrow. A changing of the guard.

And now, I miss you.

And now I know how to walk away.

Now I know what it is to walk out. To leave a gap. A void, an inexplicable absence. And these friends, these people whom I cherished as much as I cherished those who abandoned me… they will probably never really know why.

And I always saw myself as anything but cold. Anything but the kind of person who could just walk away. Not from a friend. Not from somebody who once meant something. Not from a relationship that seemed so true and strong and immeasurably valuable. Just here today, gone tomorrow. A change of heart.

And now, I miss you.

And I wish we knew how to come back.

Leave a Reply

